Ivy League or Bust?

tumblr_mxetb4fhPX1rolcdno1_250

Well.. It’s that time of year again for every senior. It’s the waiting game from now until early spring. It’s the wait that ultimately determines whether you’ve made it into the top eight A.K.A. the Ivy League: Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Cornell, Dartmouth, UPenn, Columbia, and Brown. Believe me, I was in the same position as many of this year’s senior class’ face when I applied to Dartmouth College last year. I had my hopes of getting into Dartmouth because I loved everything about the school. When I applied my grades were solid, I was involved in sports, clubs, had a job, and even got involved with volunteering because who doesn’t like that on their application? Anyways, I applied to other institutions because lets be realistic with Dartmouth’s acceptance rate at a small 5% I don’t think Albert Einstein could get in. The day finally came naturally the day before I was going on spring break to Florida. I did everything in my power to avoid opening the online portal. Finally I sat down at my computer, took a deep breath and opened the page. Dear Sarah after careful consideration… Long and short of it I was rejected from Dartmouth. Yes I was upset but at the same time I got accepted to the school I am currently at and was happy. After that day I brushed it off and went on with my life. My point to you all is you can work hard for four years, work yourself to death, and heck even join clubs that maybe you’re not even interested in all because it looks good on the Common Application. That is wrong. Your high school years are meant to be full of memories not how upset you were over a rejection to a school. Do things in high school that YOU enjoy. Whether it is ballet, painting, or lacrosse, do it for you not for those reading your application. Most importantly, don’t get worked up over something so small. However, if you’re dead set on attending one of the eight there is always a transfer option for sophomore  or junior year. The opportunities are endless. Stay smart and most of all stay fabulous!

 

Xo Sarah

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

